I haven’t been posting for a very good reason. I’m the costume designer on a little indie film called “The Mansion”. It’s set in a post-apocalyptic Atlanta (no zombies!) but it doesn’t really mention what actually happened. I’ve got 6 principals and I had to come up with costumes that weren’t Mad Max, or Book of Eli. They didn’t want tons of black but rather the clothing to look like they picked it up from their neighbors’ houses after the event. Layers, practicality and comfort were also part of the design equation. We were at costume and makeup/hair test on Monday, and the producer called their look Derelique Chic meaning Derelict with a bit of an edge. I hope we achieved that. I think we did without bowing to the old cliche of military camo and mercenary wear. It will be interesting to see how it all comes out in post. In the meantime, a little sneak peek…

IMG_0759-1

