Tags

, ,

Ever since Thor and Captain America, we (DH and I) have been anticipating the release of The Avengers that brings all of our recent favorite super heroes together. Thor, though formulaic, I thought was light and entertaining and the costumes were fabulous. I also really enjoyed Captain America and its costumes as well. Iron Man keeps me engaged because of the incomparable Robert Downey, Jr. In May 2012 we’ll also get to see Hawkeye and Black Widow in action.

I am not a fanatic about being accurate or authentic to the original comic book. As a costume designer myself, it’s good to have creative liberty to make something new out of something old. Not that things always have to be completely re-imagined, but changing it up now and again is a good thing. I don’t really care if the Avengers costumes are new and different, or upgraded. I look at the materials, fit and technique that went into creating super hero costumes that can be worn and moved in. Ultimately costumes for any film are a collaboration between the director, producers, and the artistic team made up of the art director, costume designer and set designer. All the elements must work together to create a visual that tells a story. I look forward to seeing what Joss Whedon came up with on The Avengers.

Avengers

