Tags

, , ,

Usually I talk about my latest fashion or shoe find, couture designers, and my favorite pretties and sparklies trending now, and let’s not forget the Royals who always have some fashion controversy happening. But today I want to talk about something different: country music artists and their wardrobe choices for performances. Over the last few months, DH and I have attended three concerts here in ATL – Tim McGraw, Kenny Chesney and last night Rascal Flatts. One of the first things I look at is what someone’s wearing on stage. I can’t help it. It’s just ingrained in me now. For the most part I have no problem with the ‘uniform’ most country artists wear: really tight jeans, cowboy boots, a hat, and a plaid shirt of some type. All I ask is that they look presentable, groomed and neat. Well, let’s just say that Tim McGraw and Kenny Chesney failed to impress. I wish I had pictures at close enough range to fully critique and explain the problems they were having and how they could correct it. Last night the Rascal Flatts concert was a completely different story. The opening acts were Justin Moore and Easton Corbin who both wore the typical country music artist ‘uniform’. But then came Sara Evans who wore this modern version of an 80’s batwing blouson shirt in a pale grey with a texture I could see from the 30th row, a stretchy black sequin mini in an appropriate length, some rockin’ hot strappy platform sandals, and some sparklies – a huge crystal bangle, dangly earrings, and a multiple chain necklace with some pendants. She looked polished but casual with just the right amount of bling to shine on stage. Finally, a country artist that I didn’t feel like rushing back stage to give them a quick make over!

But, then the moment of truth – the Rascal Flatts concert started, and once more I didn’t have the immediate urge to rush back stage and re-dress the band. Besides being an amazing performance, the show itself down to the instruments was fully designed. The entire band (and I mean even the backup band) was dressed in black and white. But not just plain black and white – all the pieces were embellished with just the right amount of detail. An applique here. A vertical contrast stripe there. A bit of bling and shine. The entire group wore white pants, then each of them was styled individually. At one point Sara Evans came out and performed a duet with RF’s lead singer and even she was in white pants with a polished black off the shoulder blouse and glitzy 4″ long earrings. To say I was impressed in an understatement. Even the instruments were all white from the baby grand to the fiddle. It was clearly intentional but done in a way to make the most of the lighting and stage design. I think it’s probably one of the best styled shows I’ve ever seen. It was not a costumed show (think Britney Spears and Beyonce) but real clothes for performing in. Rascal Flatts looked put together, styled and polished without being costumey. In a word – authentic. Sometimes that’s the best way to look. When you’re the biggest country act in the world with the most awards, it’s probably a good idea to be yourselves.

Since we didn’t bring the camera with the huge telephoto lense, we had to use my pocket Canon Elph and my iPhone 4. These are the best shots I got.

IMG_0431
Sara Evans

IMG_0445

IMG_0453

IMG_0456

IMG_0462

IMG_0446

