We arrived at the Radnor Hotel for our formal reception in style in our fabulous 50’s Phantom. A ‘wedding party only’ cocktail service had already begun in the Rose Glen room and that’s where Tim and I found the wedding party. I set my personal items down and headed to the reception hall. I wanted to see the room before the guests piled in, plus I needed my dress bustled and the ladies room just wasn’t spacious enough. Sam tagged along and eventually Tim made it in there too to help Sam bustle my dress. Meanwhile, a server had already gone to get me one of our signature cocktails, The Celtic Knot.

Cocktails_0003
Investigating the ribbons to tie for the French bustle.

Cocktails_0002
My seamstress was fun. She used all different colors because she knew I’d be ok with it.

Cocktails_0005
Even Tim helped out. He’s a good husband.

Details_0298
Our custom seating chart with both Scottish and Irish maps watermarked and now hanging in our house as a memento of everyone who shared the day with us! We also saved paper because we didn’t do traditional place cards. Our guest book, which isn’t shown, was a matted photograph of us but the matte was a metal that could be ‘signed’ with a special stylus. It’s also hanging in the house as a memento of our day. Once we get a wedding portrait print, it will go in the frame instead of our engagement photo. I figured guestbooks just get thrown in a drawer or a box and I wanted to be able to enjoy our ‘guest book’ displayed in the house.

Details_0274
The room from the entrance looking down towards the dance floor.

Details_0300
My cake featuring the Trinity Knot which was used throughout the entire event as a symbol of mine and Tim’s union and our faith in God.

Cocktails_0006
The cocktail hour musical trio from Franklin and Alison Orchestra. They did a lovely job. The music was perfect for the occasion.

Cocktails_0009
Julia and Kevin. Julia was one of the very first people I met when I started costuming recreationally. She’s even worked on a couple of theater shows for me doing crafty bits like masks for the first theater show I ever designed – Narnia! I’m so happy they were able to be at the wedding. It was so good to see them.

Cocktails_0010
My Aunt Carlene, her husband Uncle Jack, my cousin Kathy, and Jack’s daughter-in-law

Cocktails_0013
My aunt Helen, my cousin Matt (Helen’s son) and his wife Beth, my Aunt Margaret, and my cousin Shannon with her husband Gerard – they just had a baby named Jake. Beth is due any day now!

Cocktails_0016
The crew who dubbed the wedding “JenniCon” and who I didn’t get to spend nearly enough time with that weekend. I want Star Trek pj’s!!

Cocktails_0018
Long time church members and folks I’ve known since I was 13. I was so happy they could celebrate the day with us.

Cocktails_0019
Cutest shot of SamSquared for the weekend.

Cocktails_0021
My parents with a mix of family, close neighbors and church family.

Cocktails_0024
Sigrira and Sam. 🙂

Cocktails_0028
My new family looking sharp.

Cocktails_0032
Long time family friends Dennis and Donna, along with Bruce and Marilyn who also happen to be Greg’s parents, posing with Rita. I was thrilled when the RSVP cards arrived and all of them said yes!

Cocktails_0036
College friends Matt, Ellen and Tom who was in the wedding party.

Cocktails_0047
My past next door neighbor Tony and his fiancee with me and Tim. Tony and I lived next door to each other when I owned my condo in Devon, PA. As I was going back to art school I moved out and sold the place, but Tony and I have kept in touch. I was thrilled that he and his fiancee could come to our wedding. I hadn’t seen Tony since 2003!

Some brides and grooms choose to stay out of the way and not attend the main cocktail hour. Tim and I wanted to be there with everyone else so after 20 minutes in the private room we joined the guests. We got to talk to more people that way and enjoy the music and ambiance of the event.

Cocktails_0059
Some church family viewing the family wedding photograph display we had at the reception. My parents, Tim’s parents, siblings, grandparents and aunts and uncles wedding photos were on the table. This was our way of honoring our families and their marriages, plus it’s fun to share the family history that way.

Cocktails_0063
Sue with daughters Kaye and Dardrae looking at the wedding photo display.

The cocktail hour food was fabulous. We had six hot butlered hors d’oeuvres, a pasta station featuring seven different toppings, a selection of cheeses, crackers, fruit and veggies, plus fondue, and a selection of cold hors d’ouevres. I wish we had photos because it was quite a spread!

Details_0304
Our signature cocktail, the Celtic Knot. Yum! I think I had about 12 of them at least through the evening.

At about 8pm they opened the doors for everyone to be seated. The wedding party hung back – we were going to be announced into the formal reception. The party was just getting started!

